Japanese Quince Styled

Last year I repotted the Japanese Quince into a colander, and let it grow wild for a year. It put out a lot of new growth. This year, I decided to heavily prune it, and begin styling the tree. The tree started with looking very overgrown.

Quince Before Styling

Since this quince is very vigorous, I pruned it back heavily.

Quince After Styling

The goal is to push all the energy into the tree growing in the middle, while the other side branches shall remain short.

Quince After Repot

Since this will be a clump style, they look best in a shallow pot. I ended up putting it into this very shallow pot. Notably, this pot isn’t very attractive. I can certainly repot it into a more attractive pot if I ever come across one.

Leave a Reply

