Chinese Elm Sprouted

The Chinese Elm cuttings I struck last week have now sprouted leaves! I wasn’t expecting so many leaves to sprout from the cuttings. Hopefully they’ll all be contributing energy to root development. With bottom heating, I’m hoping the cuttings will be persuaded to put out roots sooner than later. There was a leaf that had already sprouted from one of the cutting before I strike them. Due to the intense light I’ve been growing the cuttings under, the leaf got burnt and fell off. Luckily there were many more leaves that sprouted to replace it. Since the new leaves all sprouted under high light intensity, they won’t get burnt. I’m now hoping some leaves will sprout from the thicker cuttings. In retrospect, I should have left more leave buds with the thicker cuttings.

Chinese Elm Sprouted

Leave a Reply

