Defoliating the Maple

I’ve noticed the buds on the Maple are swelling very much, but shy of popping new leaves, so I decided to defoliate it to push out those new buds. Since the tree is very vigorous, I think it should be able to tolerate the abuse. The tree looks very full before defoliation.

Maple before defoliation

I proceeded to cut off all the leaves, while leaving behind the leave stalks.

Maple after defoliation

After defoliating, I’ve noticed there were some branches which had two sets of internodes, so I reduced them further, in hopes of creating a more compact tree (once the buds pop).

Maple after pruning

One thought on “Defoliating the Maple

Leave a Reply

