Black Pine Seeding Cuttings

These black pines were developed from seeds that I acquired through Ebay. I believe I now know how to grow pine seedlings properly. Not only is stratification and scarification important, but when the seeds sprout, much care is required in ensuring it get sufficient moisture, and lighting. On the lighting front, I used a LED grow light while the seeds are sprouting. Every morning, I would make sure to mist the seedlings such that they don’t get too dry. After the seedlings are sufficiently big (when they lose the seed),  I move them outside under shade for a week (for safety measure, such that they don’t cook in the sun), and then I expose them in full sun.

After a week or two in full sun, the seedlings are now developing the second pair of leaves. Like any other seedlings I have, I’ll try to develop seedling cuttings from these.

Black Pine Seedlings

 

The same process of severing the top from the root, dip into rooting hormone, and into a sand pit is what I followed religiously. This process has on the most part, never failed me, given that the specimen is healthy. I picked the 5 most developed seedlings to be developed this week. In the following weeks, I’ll be drafting more brave seedlings to be seedling cuttings. Below are this week’s victims.

Black Ping Seedling Cutting

Black Ping Seedling Cutting

Black Ping Seedling Cutting

Black Ping Seedling Cutting

Black Ping Seedling Cutting

Leave a Reply

